New Google tool lets users decide what happens to data after death.

Standard

google_logo

Ever wonder what happens to your email account, blog and social networking profile when you die?

Well, now you don’t need to wonder!

In recent years, what happens to your online data after your death has become somewhat of an issue for many, but those concerns are now a thing of the past.

Google is the first company to let users decide what happens to their personal info after they die or stop using their account.

The new feature called ‘Inactive Account Manager’ allows users to choose what happens to their emails, photos, videos, blogs, social networks and other Google services, if their Google account becomes inactive.

Googlers can now decide to have their data deleted after their account lies inactive between 3 months to a year and can allocate up to 10 people to have their data sent to.

Users will receive a warning text message, as well as an email to a secondary address, before shutting down accounts.

This new service applies to Gmail, Google +, Picasa, YouTube, Blogger, Google Drive and more.

Surely, it’s only a matter of time until social websites like Facebook and Twitter introduce a similar service to users?

From the Soundzdirect Team!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s